College announces excellence awards

The College has announced the recipients of its faculty/staff excellence awards, which were distributed during a luncheon earlier this year.

The 2017 award winners are:

Gina Diaz, assistant nursing professor, received the Max H. Lavine award. The highest award for teaching excellence at the College, the Lavine Award is given annually to a faculty member who demonstrates a commitment to furthering the mission of the College through value-oriented teaching in the Benedictine tradition.

Hong-Ming Liang, associate history professor, received the Tassie McNamara Award. The highest honor presented by the student body to a faculty or staff member, this award recognizes those who exemplify the spirit of St. Benedict through administrating, teaching or working at the College.

Lindsay Pacey, anatomy lab director, was the recipient of the Equal Access Award. This award recognizes faculty who exhibit exemplary effort to engage students with disabilities in academic and interpersonal growth and development.

Jeri Collier, assistant registrar, was given the Excellence in Service to the College award. This award recognizes outstanding service to the College, including both ad hoc and formal activities.

Alicia Cyr, registrar generalist, won the Excellence Award for Service to the Community. This award recognizes important contributions to the community through service work that is reflective of the College's mission.

Monica Marciniak, Global, Cultural and Language Studies lecturer, received the Excellence Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity. This award goes to a faculty member whose exceptional merit in scholarly and creative activity provides a worthy example to peers.

Merissa Edwards, Athletics Department administrative assistant, won the Excellence Award for Living Our Values. This award recognizes excellence of faculty and staff who support and further the College's mission of preparing students for responsible living and meaningful work by exemplifying the Benedictine values in their work at the College.

Lesley Kleveter, an adjunct faculty member, received the award for Excellence in Advising and Mentoring of colleagues. This award recognizes and affirms the significant role of staff and faculty advising and mentoring in forming the minds and shaping the lives of their co-workers.

Laura Johnson, senior alumni relations officer, and Jill Dupont, associate history professor, won awards in the category of Inclusive Excellence. This award is given to a College individual, team, department or school who advanced equity, diversity and inclusion through dedication and exemplary leadership in providing services for diverse populations, fostering an inclusive environment inside/outside of the classroom and/or addressing equity.

The Vivat Volunteer Award for the department with the most volunteer hours served went to the Communication, Theatre, and Art Department.